Oh well, I tried….

I decided recently that donating blood for the first time will be a real step in the right direction. Breaking through that taboo in my head would prove enlightening and beneficial. Well I suppose it was enlightening – I discovered you cannot just donate that easily!

You wouldn’t believe what a huge disappointment it was for me.WP_20160224_001

I approached the day with enthusiasm but when I reached the town hall where I was to donate my nerves were jangling. Inside my nerves only got worse, for a bit I actually thought of calling it quits and going home. I felt nauseas and ‘spacey’. I stuck it out and went through my screening process. They were exceptionally thorough, even calling my GP to ensure I could safely donate because I had miscarried 4 months before. The fact I was born in South Africa also became a small sticking point, the final check of my iron levels finally cleared me to donate.

I drank my 500ml glass of water and then I was called to come and sit on a weird grey chair that tilts you back. I was hooked up and almost immediately there was this beeping sound. I had to squeeze something in my hand to keep the pressure up, that continued for a few minutes, but the beeping kept coming back. I learnt that the machine weighing my blood also checks that its flowing at a fast enough rate. Mine was not, if they do not get your full donation in 15 minutes it becomes unusable. So after I had only managed half a pint they had to ‘let it down’ and call it quits for real. The reason is my veins are too narrow, the donor carer advised me to try again in 2-4 years as my veins may have changed by then.

I got up, had my water and a biscuit and then made my way home, feeling rather dejected by the experience. The disappointment that I wasn’t able to do what I had set out to do really got to me. I never thought for a moment that my slim little veins would be what got me!

As the title of this blog says, ‘oh well, I tried’. Still doesn’t feel very good though!

3 thoughts on “Oh well, I tried….

  1. You should feel good. You did something which could have saved a person – a baby, a toddler, a teenager, a middle-aged person, an elderly person – your husband, your son…. Is that something to be despondent about? I would say definitely not. You did great – you should be proud that you did something in an effort to selflessly help another human being. What can give you more faith than that? You have my respect, and gratitude that it may have been one of our family that you could have helped to save. That’s religion.

    Like

      • I’m really disappointed I haven’t made as much effort as Pauline and Aaron – but I will make it up – I’ll donate every time I see the transfusion unit coming to my town.

        It was a very personal and heartfelt post you wrote – the fact you tried is as good as actually doing it. If you succeed next time, then that’s a bonus – but trying is what really counts.

        You’re an inspiration… don’t change.

        Mark

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

