How to prove Jesus is not Michael the Archangel

I had the most enlightening conversation over e-mail with a current Witness over this question and I wanted to share the result, how to prove that Jesus is not Michael the Archangel with scripture. The Governing Body teaches that Jesus and Michael are the same, Michael being Jesus’ name in heaven before he came to earth.

All the scriptures quoted are from the New World Translation.

First off I listed the different occurrences of Michael the angel in the Bible. archangel-michael-6575209

Dan 10:13 “But the prince of the royal realm of Persia was standing in opposition to me for twenty one days, and , look! Michael, one of he foremost princes, came to help me; and I, for my part, remained there beside the kings of Persia.”
Dan10:21 ” However, I shall tell you the things noted down in the writing of truth, and there is no one holding strongly with me in these things but Michael, the prince of you people.”
Dan12:1 ” And during that time Michael will stand up, the great prince….”
Jude 9 “But when Michael the archangel had a difference with the Devil and was disputing about Moses body, he did not dare to bring a judgement against him in abusive terms but said: “May Jehovah rebuke you.”
Rev 12:7 “And war broke out in heaven: Michael and his angels battled with the dragon, and the dragon and its angels battled”
From this we can list some facts about Michael:
1)A foremost prince
2)Prince of the people
3)A great prince
4) Archangel
5)He has ‘his’ own angels
We can only conclude from this that Michael is a high ranking angel and described as a prince.
Now let’s read Hebrews 1:5,6 “For example, to which one of the angels did he ever say: “You are my son; I today, I have become your father”? And again: “I myself shall become his father, and he himself will become my son”? But when he again brings his Firstborn into the inhabited earth, he says: “And let all God’s angels do obeisance to him.”
That is rather conclusive isn’t it? Michael is clearly an angel even though a high ranking one, and the Father is saying and in fact repeats the thought that none of the angels were chosen for the task of being his son. Only Jesus could be – who is not an angel by that scripture!
Please do comment with your thoughts on this and definitely comment if I missed something!
4 thoughts on “How to prove Jesus is not Michael the Archangel

  1. Great article! I thought of one other point that is often used. Jesus rebuked Satan but Michael did not dare, another conclusive point. Jude 1:9 But even the archangel Michael, when he was disputing with the devil about the body of Moses, did not himself dare to condemn him for slander but said, “The Lord rebuke you!” Keep up the good work! Agape! Sally

    Like

Leave a Reply

